Birthday season coming up…

August 7, 2009 at 3:46 pm 37 comments

Morrow’s birthday is sneaking up on me, coming quickly on August 22nd. I usually try to knit something for my kids for their birthdays, so here’s what I impulsively decided on this morning at the yarn store:

playground hoodie

playground hoodie 2

[photos by Loop Knits]

It’s called the Playground Hoodie, and the pattern is by Spud and Chloe, a relatively new yarn brand that I’ve been reading all kinds of hype about and have been eager to try.

Morrow’s sweater will have a zipper sewn in for front closure. And the contrast color I chose is a lime green.

Good thing about it is that it’s really thick yarn and should knit up quickly. I don’t exactly have a lot of time. So I should probably stop blogging about it and actually go start it!

Don’t tell Morrow, though. It’s a surprise.

Entry filed under: Crafts, Morrow.

Welcome, and let me introduce you to a friend of mine. Another post in which I commend my favorite…

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    that is SO cute! Makes me want to learn how to do it:)

    Reply
  • 2. Heather  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    I love that! Come to think of it, I have a sweater I’ve been crocheting for a few months. Should probably get back to that.

    Reply
  • 3. Noel  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    You’re amazing.

    Reply
  • 4. mahlbrandt  |  August 7, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    That is adorable!! Please post pictures when you’re finished!

    Reply
  • 5. Jesica  |  August 7, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    I am seething with envy (not really – just amazed that you can knit)! You are incredibly talented and your little man will look SO handsome.

    Reply
  • 6. Melissa Parnell  |  August 7, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I can’t wait to see the finish product. Morrow is going to look all GQ in his new sweater!

    Reply
  • 7. katherine  |  August 7, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    oooo….i LOVE it!! it makes me want to learn to knit. i got interested in it about year ago, but don’t have anyone close to actually teach me so i kind of fell off the wagon. maybe i should try to learn again.

    Reply
  • 8. Stephanie  |  August 7, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    I read your blog, but rarely comment. Love the sweater. I just started knitting, and am currently on my first project, a scarf for daughter #2. Hopefully, my skill will grow to inlcude sweaters! It’s aadorable

    Reply
  • 9. MrsMK  |  August 7, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Oh, Molly! What a great sweater! You have to show us the finished project on Morrow! What a cutie!

    Reply
  • 10. jessicamelling  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    That’s a very handsome sweater for a little guy. Until I read your post, I subconsciously thought knitting a seasonal activity for winter. You have caused me to think differently. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 11. jennapants  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    oh…that sweater would look good on anybody! i love it. me next, me next! 😉

    Reply
    • 12. Abraham  |  August 8, 2009 at 3:52 pm

      Get in line, sister.

      Reply
  • 13. Rebecca  |  August 7, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Love the pattern you chose! I’ll have to check into that yarn you mentioned. I think the birthday surprise will be so cute! Praying for your ‘flying fingers’!

    Reply
  • 14. Craig  |  August 8, 2009 at 12:29 am

    What is Morrow’s email/blogsite in case i just HAVE to give him some hints? Just kidding. Looks cool, er, I mean “warm.”

    Reply
  • 15. Liz Holst  |  August 8, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Adorable!! Are YOU going to put in the zipper or have someone do it for you? Was this at Depth of Field or where did you find it? Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply
  • 16. Sarah Sweetman  |  August 8, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Impressive, amazing and what a sweet added touch making it yourself…I love it! I defently have just added a life goal to my list…learn to knit like molly. It is right up there with make a quilt. Someday, someday.

    Reply
  • 17. Cara Herzberg  |  August 8, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    You can MAKE that??? No way. Incredible. How much can I pay you to make me one?

    Reply
  • 18. cherokeebydesign  |  August 8, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Neat looking….I use to wear a sweater alot…until my son told me I looked old, LOL.

    I’ve been trying to locate your email address..but cant.

    Email me at raven_youngblood@yahoo.com

    Raven

    Reply
  • 19. Elizabeth Esther  |  August 8, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Such a nice, nubby texture! Perfect for Fall! Will you post pictures of the final result? please do!

    Reply
  • 20. Becky  |  August 9, 2009 at 11:35 am

    this is awesome. I really need to learn how to do this!

    Reply
  • 21. Amanda J  |  August 9, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Oh my gosh- TOO CUTE!

    Reply
  • 22. 'Guerite ~ BoldLion  |  August 9, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    Morrow is going to be very bless to have this. I can’t wait to see the picture of him in that.

    Hungry to eat His Word,
    ‘Guerite ~ BoldLion

    Reply
  • 23. Bethany  |  August 9, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    That sweater is SO sweet. Love it!

    Reply
  • 24. Shari  |  August 9, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    That is such a sweet sweater! How I wish I could knit.. I can sew a bit but I let the machine do all the work!

    Reply
  • 25. Jared  |  August 9, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    I never thought I’d read the words “yarn” and “hype” in the same sentence. 🙂

    Reply
  • 26. amanda  |  August 9, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    i have been loving the spud and chloe stuff too! i’m about to start the honeycomb scarf for a couple of christmas presents. i wish i could even hope of finishing one by the end of august. you must be so much faster than me! i hope you’ll let us know how it goes!

    Reply
  • 27. Hannah  |  August 9, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    Beautiful! Are you using the same colours?
    And I can’t believe Morrow is nearing one year!

    Reply
  • 28. FaithBarista | Bonnie Gray  |  August 10, 2009 at 12:55 pm

    Happy Birthday to your little guy. How was the fit. Totally adorable hoddie. Wish I had one myself!

    Reply
  • 29. Anita  |  August 10, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    I love it, I wish I wasn’t so knitting challenged. I can cast on, pearl and knit, but I can’t cast off, and I always mess up with the counting. Grrr!

    Reply
  • 30. Emily  |  August 11, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    You are my hero for taking on such a project. I wish I had your knitting abilities. Corban’s b-day is a few months away if you have an urge to make another 🙂

    Reply
  • 31. Robyn  |  August 11, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    that looks so cozy!

    Reply
  • 32. Becky  |  August 11, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Molly,
    I love your blog and posts. I have added you onto my blogroll with other friends who are on our own grief journey.
    Hang on. Heaven is sweeter.
    Becky

    Reply
  • 33. Kristin  |  August 12, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Wow. I can barely do a scarf, let alone a sweater. I once thought it would be cool to knit my kids something each Christmas…I think my best bet would be to pay someone like you, who knows what they’re doing, to knit something for them each Christmas! 🙂

    Reply
  • 34. Shannon  |  August 13, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I have just begun to knit..I would love to be able to make one of these by next christmas for my kids. It looks great!

    Reply
  • 35. Katherine Millen  |  August 14, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Having been duly advised that apologizing is not necessary, I want to say plainly that I am grateful someone shared your blog with me. Over the past several months, I have benefitted from your words to those of us who are walking alongside a friend who grieves – and we feel awkward. I am challenged to grow in my own transparency as I read yours. I am reminded of the faithfulness of God as I see you receiving grace to continue to pursue Gd and to love and serve those around you. Thanks for all the time you spend blogging. I do not spend much time reading blogs, but yours is on my favorite’s list. And who wouldn’t love Orison’s recitation of the book of Luke!

    Reply
  • 36. WhiteStone  |  August 16, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    What a lovely gift this will be. It’s easy to purchase a ready-made garment but one that is handmade has “love” incorporated. You can’t help but be in prayer for this little guy the entire time you are knitting. Bless you and your family.

    Reply
  • 37. Victor P  |  August 20, 2009 at 4:54 am

    What if he secretly reads you blog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


