A birthday and an almost-finished sweater

August 23, 2009 at 10:46 pm 23 comments

On Saturday, we celebrated Morrow’s first birthday. Hard to believe that it was one year ago that he came into our lives.

We had a nice (read: brief) birthday party for him and sang “Happy Birthday” at 12:22pm, commemorating his entry into the world to the very minute. It was sweet to celebrate that. And it was a good thing he wasn’t born at 3:30 in the morning or something!

For me, the weirdest part of reflecting on a year going past is that I haven’t been pregnant for a whole year. For most women, it’s all about getting used to being pregnant and all the changes that entails. For me, I’ve been trying to get used to this whole not-being-pregnant thing. I suppose back-to-back pregnancies’ll do that to you.

For those of you who wanted to see pictures of the completed sweater I planned to knit for Morrow, here he is modeling it in it’s nearly-completed state. Obviously he’s got some growing to do to fill it out! I suppose that’s the reality he lives with when he’s only in the 15th percentile!

But I’m really pleased with how it turned out. I still have to sew the zipper in (I already finished weaving in that long end in the picture).

Anyway…here’s little Morrow Johnner:

Morrow sweater

He’s one of the brighest spots in my life. His sweet little voice, his funny little antics, even his whining… it’s all amazing to me. I’m so thankful that I’ve gotten to be his mother for one year so far. I pray to God to give me many more years with him.

Entry filed under: Crafts, Family, Morrow.

Another post in which I commend my favorite… A Chance to Trust: Traveling to El Salvador in November with Compassion International

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Casey  |  August 24, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Our daughter grace is in the 35th percentile for weight but the 96th for the size of her head. Her mom blames me for the size of the head and I must say, I’m guilty as charged.

    Reply
  • 2. Serena  |  August 24, 2009 at 12:49 am

    Morrow is adorable!

    He’s exactly the same age as my cousin’s baby, give or take a few hours. 😉 And a week and a day older than my daughter, who is also a bitty thing.

    Reply
  • 3. Jamie  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Very cute! I knit but have never sewn a zipper in. I’m a little scared of it! Do you use a sewing machine? I tend to pick things that are in the round with not too much finishing work. I HATE sewing things up!

    Reply
  • 4. J. Evans  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Oh my goodness, Morrow!!!! You are getting to be such a big (little) boy! Happy Birthday, little blessing. Your birth brought such joy into our home, as well as your own. God is faithful, good and glorious – and may you joyfully walk in His way all the days of your life.

    Great job on the sweater, Molly!!! I still think you should open an Etsy store.

    Reply
  • 5. Greta  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:56 am

    He is sooo cute and the sweater looks great!
    P.S. We love Sandra Boynton books too ;).

    Reply
  • 6. jessicamelling  |  August 24, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Bright eyes, chubby cheeks and a new sweater sure look good on him!

    Reply
  • 7. Talitha  |  August 24, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Super cute photo!

    Reply
  • 8. JenR  |  August 24, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Happy birthday, Morrow! What a big boy you look in that handsome sweater. It sounds like you are taking good care of your mommy and are helping her with all the transitions.

    Reply
  • 9. Sara McDonald  |  August 24, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Morrow’s adorable and so is the sweater! Baby sweaters are the cutest and the fastest, too. Win-win.

    Reply
  • 10. steph johnson  |  August 24, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    I love the sweater! So cute! And, Morrow is getting so big 🙂 What a cutie!

    Reply
  • 11. jennapants  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    oh!!!! i love his face!!!!! great job, molly! it’s lookin’ good! did you find someone to help with that zipper?

    Reply
  • 12. Chris  |  August 24, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Beautiful post, beautiful baby, beautiful sweater…:)

    Reply
  • 13. amanda  |  August 24, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    you did such a great job! and he looks so incredibly cute in it!

    Reply
  • 14. Debby  |  August 24, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Adorable picture, Molly (he’s SO cute…and great job on the sweater so far!).

    I’m praying with you tonight that God will give you many, many more birthdays together with your boys.

    Reply
  • 15. Rebecca  |  August 25, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Happy Birthday Morrow!

    Praising God for the gift of 365 days that you’ve had with him thusfar!

    Nice job on the sweater too :>)

    Reply
  • 16. Allison  |  August 25, 2009 at 11:49 am

    How adorable he looks!

    We love “Moo, Baa, La La La,” too!

    Reply
  • 17. FaithBarista Bonnie  |  August 25, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Oh, congratulations to Mommy to making it a year.

    At least, that’s how we felt as parents year #1!

    I love his button nose – grows great with the hoodie you knitted him – cute as a button!

    Thanks for showing us how your present looks!

    Reply
  • 18. ebe  |  August 25, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    We are so thankful for Morrow. Thank you God.

    Happy birthday Morrow!!

    Reply
  • 19. deb t  |  August 28, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    What a sweet little boy!! Happy Birthday, Morrow!!!

    Reply
  • 20. 'Guerite ~ BoldLion  |  August 28, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Wonderful job on kniting. I can’t do that! Your lovely son, Morrow is so cute! He is very bless to have you.

    Hungry to eat His Word,
    ‘Guerite ~ BoldLion

    Reply
  • 21. Colette  |  August 29, 2009 at 6:16 am

    Molly He is so beautiful…i can say that about a one year old boy right?:) He looks like a baby doll and the sweater is adorable!

    Reply
  • 22. Vicky @ thecitycradle  |  September 3, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    What a beautiful family. Thanks for sharing your joys and trials with us all.

    Reply
  • 23. karla  |  September 9, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    I love that kid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


