Today is a Re-living Day: 9/11, Eight Years Later

September 11, 2009 at 12:45 pm 13 comments

Every day is a re-living day for someone.

Today is a re-living day for so many, remembering the day their lives were changed forever, knowing they would never hear the voice or touch the warm flesh of their husband, wife, mother, father, sister, brother again.

I know that many of us relate to the anniversary of 9/11 by remembering where we were or what we were doing when the news hit us. That is, of course, a normal way to relate to that traumatic news. We do our own re-living of this day when do that.

That was my first reaction this morning when I saw many people Tweeting what they were doing eight years ago when they heard that news.

But soon after that, God brought someone else to my mind—someone I don’t know, the collective “someone” who lost their beloved husband or wife, their treasured son or daughter. This is the someone God brought to my mind today.

We all remember the scenes of chaos we watched via the major news broadcasts. But I want to try to remember that there were people actually experiencing that swirling, smoking, screaming chaos. There were desperate people racing to Ground Zero to try to locate any news about their precious loved one. People dialing again and again into the jammed phone lines, searching for the voice they would never hear again on this earth.

This morning I heard a devotion on Psalm 56:8

You have kept count of my tossings;
put my tears in your bottle.
Are they not in your book?

This is the segment that struck me the most:
The [Hebrew] word for bottle (no’d) does not refer to some small capped jar, but rather to a skin-bottle used for large quantities of liquid. It’s as if David, after affirming God’s awareness of his sorrows, cries out in hope: “Collect all of my many tears in your canteen!”

So for all the families and friends who have cried so many tears of longing and devastation these past eight years, God has a big enough canteen for all of them. They’re all there and known…collected.

I want to be with you in my heart today, marking your re-living day. Some of the tears in God’s canteen marked “Molly Piper” are there on your behalf today.

Read the whole Psalm 56:8 devotion.

Entry filed under: Faith, Grief.

Our home renovations (read: What we’ve done all summer) Getting stung really hurts! Oh yeah, and California’s cool.

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JessicainFlorida  |  September 11, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Just beautiful. Written as one who knows what it means to mourn well.

    Reply
  • 2. Internet Elias  |  September 11, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    I first encountered the ‘tears in a bottle’ verse in 1983 when a friend gave it to me after the death of my newborn son who lived twenty-two minutes. God grieves with the broken hearted and every fallen tear is significant. Eight years ago, He grieved, loved, bestowed mercies (many never recognized), gave comfort/ courage, and has continually…since 9/11… restored destroyed lives and families. Tomorrow I will again go watch my granddaughter play a Volleyball tournament. I deeply KNOW its no small thing…this high school volleyball tournament. It’s a gift from God to do these things in peace and safety. NO SMALL THING!
    I look forward to the time when the Prince of Peace will set up His final Kingdom and all people will live in Peace and Safety…expecially the children.

    Reply
  • 3. Kelly @ Love Well  |  September 11, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Sounds like 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 to me.

    I love your sweet heart, Molly. This touched me deeply.

    Reply
  • 4. Heather of the EO  |  September 11, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    YES. Beautiful. Thank you!

    Reply
  • 5. Julie  |  September 11, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Thank you for using your wordcraft to bring me again into compassion and the shared experience of Christ’s family. You make our God more glorious to me through your words. No small gift, Molly.

    Reply
  • […] breaks my heart. I can’t even imagine… Molly Piper, whose blog I love to read, wrote a beautiful post today about God collecting our […]

    Reply
  • 7. Helen  |  September 11, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Thank you so much Molly. I was brought to tears today on multiple occasions…listening to the news…trying to explain the significance of today to my 6-year old son. Those tears were not for me, I was not affected by the loss of anyone on that day but I still cry, every year for those who were lost and for those who lost someone. Thank you for articulating how I am empathizing with so many today.

    Reply
  • 8. Bethany  |  September 11, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Thank you, Molly, for this beautiful remembrance post. It touched me and reminds me to continue to pray for all of those who experience loss because of 9/11/01.

    Reply
  • 9. Amy  |  September 12, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Molly, thanks for this post. I lost my brother in NY 8 years ago, and it is comforting to know families like mine are still held up in prayer, even as the years pass. It makes me feel less alone in my grief.

    Reply
  • 10. ebe  |  September 12, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Beautifully written.

    We who have lost will remember all the ones we long for.

    Reply
  • 11. Laura @ Texas in Africa  |  September 12, 2009 at 9:17 pm

    Thank-you for this. I lived in Connecticut at the time, and several members of our church were unaccounted for most of that day. Forty people in the town died. It is beyond my capacity to describe what it was like, and we didn’t experience the worst of it – everyone I knew turned up eventually.

    We will continue to pray for and walk with those for whom the day was the worst nightmare.

    Reply
  • 12. Emma  |  September 13, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Everyday is a day of re-living for someone.
    x

    Reply
  • 13. Mom  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:51 am

    This has been a precious and comforting verse to me as I watch my son’s destructive lifestyle take him further away from his family and God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


