Getting stung really hurts! Oh yeah, and California’s cool.

September 16, 2009 at 1:15 am 27 comments

Right now, Abraham and I are enjoying the views of southern and central California to celebrate our sixth wedding anniversary. My awesome parents came from PA to be with our kids (thanks, Mom & Dad)!

Today we took on “The PCH” (see Abraham’s post for a funny discourse on CA highways), which stands for the Pacific Coast Highway, also known as Highway 1.

It’s the windy one that travels along the stunning west coast of America. One word for that experience: stunning. I said to Abraham, “Everyone should do this drive before they die.” It’s really that amazing (and I’m really that good at exaggerating).

My camera is a really crappy point & shoot, so it won’t do justice to the awesomeness of what we saw today, but I’ll attempt to include you in it anyway.

elephantsealsAt a beach near Cambria, CA where we watched elephant seals!

waitingareaA very cool restaurant called Nepenthe in Big Sur. This was their waiting area!

lunchspot-1-1

One of our stops along the PCH was at this state park where you could hike along a mountainside trail for 1/4 of a mile or so. I got to the end and started reading one of the state park plaques and felt this horrible feeling in my right hip. It kind of felt like a sting, but I couldn’t be sure.

You see, I’d only been stung by a bee one time in my life. It was when I was probably 14 years old, and I was walking and talking to a friend. And a bee flew into my mouth and stung me on the tongue. My mouth, people!!! It was horrible. And since it was my first sting, I had no idea whether I was going to be fine or if my tongue was going to swell up and choke me to death.

Anyway, back to the horrible stinging feeling in California. I thought for sure it was just my point & shoot camera in my pocket (you know, the crappy one) digging into my leg or something. So I tried to ignore it.

But it would not be ignored. It just kept getting worse and worse. The pain was shooting down my leg. “Surely this is not my camera,” clueless Molly finally concludes.

I started digging for the source of the horrible pain I was experiencing and finally found a bee in the pocket of my capris, stinging the heck out of my leg. And then he was sure to get me on the hand on his way out, just for good measure.

I know I probably sound like a total wuss, but it’d been so many years since I’d been properly stung that I just want to remind all of you…

Bee stings really hurt. Just go ahead and avoid them. Thankfully I was able to recover enough to still enjoy lots more of these:

beachA beautiful beach view, taken immediately before the sting.

Entry filed under: Fun, Travel.

Today is a Re-living Day: 9/11, Eight Years Later I’m a compulsive unpacker.

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  September 16, 2009 at 6:33 am

    I am so happy for you guys! Enjoy the anniversary celebrations and the beautiful scenery! See you when you get back.

    Reply
  • 2. Gina  |  September 16, 2009 at 6:42 am

    bless your heart. but thanks for making me laugh this morning!

    Reply
  • 3. Jeanie  |  September 16, 2009 at 8:48 am

    ENJOY your time away from home! I grew up on the West Coast, Santa Maria, to be exact. I think it is one of the most beautiful places in the world. I hope you have a wonderful anniversary and enjoy a time of relaxation and refreshment.

    Reply
  • 4. Karen F.  |  September 16, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Oh, I hope you are having a wonderful time, despite the bee stings!
    We’re just a few miles inland from Monterey . . . I hope you get all the way up to the Carmel, Monterey area. The 17 Mile Drive is not to be missed! God’s amazing creation is miraculously displayed right there!
    Blessings to you on your trip!

    Reply
  • 5. JenR  |  September 16, 2009 at 9:30 am

    Molly, We have been to every one of those spots!!! We have a family picture by your last photo and everyone thinks it is from Hawaii. What a gorgeous drive, and Nepenthe is a yummy place to eat. Did you see Hearst’s Castle?

    Also, if you get as far north as San Jose, I recommend not going to Winchester Mystery House. I have had the misfortune of going 4-5 times with company, and it is…underwhelming, especially if you saw Hearsts Castle. A big, weird wood house build by a completely crazy lady without even many period furnishings to make it more interesting.

    Reply
  • 6. Wes  |  September 16, 2009 at 9:38 am

    Highway 1! It’s hard to feel like any description is exaggerated, isn’t it?! I think we talked about this before you left. I love, love that place.

    Sorry ’bout the bee sting.

    Miss you guys.

    Reply
  • 7. Kelly @ Love Well  |  September 16, 2009 at 9:57 am

    You’re making me homesick.

    My husband I and drove The One before we had kids. We rented a convertible and drove from our-then-home in San Jose to our-old-home in San Diego. I didn’t get stung, but I did get sunburned. (And I loved every minute of it.)

    Reply
  • 8. Kate  |  September 16, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Ok, I think I’ve commented only a few times but I have to comment now. You are right where I live! I grew up in San Luis Obispo and am now residing just north in Atascadero. Isn’t the coast just beautiful?! I’m sure your father in law told you of some fun places to go since he’s preached out here before, but if you ever get the chance to visit Montana De Oro (in Los Osos a bit off Hwy 1) you will love it. Its one of our favorite spots on the beach. Plus there are a few good trails to hike and bike. Wish we could meet you and Abraham. Have a happy anniversay!

    Reply
  • 9. Elizabeth Esther  |  September 16, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Ouch about the bee sting! But yay! for the drive! I knew you wouldn’t regret the drive along the coast. And yes, Nepenthe is one of my favorite stopping spots, too. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!

    and i know it’s crazy BUT SoCal folks refer to PCH as just PCH. It’s the one highway we don’t put “the” before. LOL.

    happy anniversary!

    Reply
  • 10. bean  |  September 16, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Haha, Elizabeth Esther beat me to the punch. Just PCH. 🙂

    It is beautiful, though. My husband and I drove part of if on our anniversary, but it was right after a major year for El Nino, so a bunch of bridges were being repaired…we spent many times stopped for an hour while they let the other direction of traffic cross the bridges. 🙂 At least there was lots of time to look at the ocean.

    Reply
  • 11. Kendall  |  September 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    If it makes you feel any better, I heard that bees die after stinging someone. (it would make me happy to know it… chuckle)
    Happy anniversary!

    Reply
  • 12. jennapants  |  September 16, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    coincidentally…my favorite birthday card this year was from my friend who used to live in SoCal…the front states, “I would TOTALLY throw myself on a bee for you.” And, I would, Molly. I would…

    Reply
  • 13. Debby  |  September 16, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Hillarious & beautiful post (though, I’m sorry you got stung! That sounded awful!).

    Reply
  • 14. Melissa Parnell  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    can i tell you how jealous I am?!

    My favorite picture is the one where you drew the exact place you sat for lunch. It makes me feel like I was right there with you. 🙂

    Oh, and I totally know, getting stung hurts like a mug. I was a complete wuss about it and I only got stung once!

    Reply
  • 15. Kristin  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    My husband and I grew up in CA (the Bay Area), lived in So-Cal and moved to DC a year ago for his work. We recently went back for a five day highway one roadtrip (my second! : ). It’s my favorite vacation!

    Reply
  • 16. suzanne b.  |  September 17, 2009 at 1:43 am

    I kicked a wasp with my foot last summer, and he stung my toe. I hadn’t been stung since I was about five, and I just could not believe how much it hurt for the first couple minutes. I didn’t want to scare my daughter so I just hopped around and said “ow ow ow” but inside my head I was yelling as loud as I could. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Jan  |  September 17, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Hey Molly,

    I’m surprised how many readers have been to Napenthe. I have a long-time friend in Santa Cruz so have been down there plenty of times. I really like it too.

    It you go through Capitola, stop for a coffee drink at Mr Toots.

    Glad you are having a great time dispite the sting!

    Reply
  • 18. Jane  |  September 17, 2009 at 9:08 am

    What an amazing place to celebrate your anniversary! THanks for taking us along with your photos. I”m so sorry about the bee sting! It was IN your pocket!?!? How does THAT happen?!?!? Both of your bee stings are quite extraordinary, Molly, just like you!

    Reply
  • 19. stacey  |  September 17, 2009 at 11:25 am

    Beautiful pictures! I got to see a small part of that amazing location when I accompanied my husband on a business trip 2 years ago. I had never been to CA before. So pretty!
    Sorry about the sting(s)! Sounds awful, but I have to say, the one in the mouth sounds so much worse! Wow!
    Happy Anniversary!

    Reply
  • 20. Rachel  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Haha, everyone already said this but it’s very endearing that you call it “The PCH”. Don’t think I’ve heard that one before! Although we do refer to freeways as “the 5, the 55, the 405” etc so I guess I can see the confusion.

    Glad you enjoyed CA…besides the sting!

    Reply
  • 21. Chris Slater  |  September 17, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    I went to college in San Luis Obispo – an equal mix of North and South Californians. One of our favorite dining hall games was “North or South?” where you would pick out people in the crowd and try to figure out which they were by how they dressed, moved their hands, etc.

    Of course, if you hear them talk about freeways, its a dead give away.

    Good times.

    Reply
  • 22. Lindsey Mitchell  |  September 17, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Hi! I hope you don’t mind me commenting. Your blog has been very encouraging….even from so far away. So glad you guys are able to enjoy a different side of God’s creation out here in California. My husband and I moved here from Georgia about one year ago and have simply been stunned by some of the scenery. Enjoy your trip and Happy Anniversary.

    Reply
  • 23. rachel  |  September 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    beeee stings aqaahhhhh!! so painful.

    Reply
  • 24. stacey  |  September 18, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    That is sooo funny about your tongue. T Callahan got stung in the eye when we were little doing a somersault LOL. They hurt, I know.

    Isn’t that the coolest drive ??? I never get tired of it. It is an amazing place.

    Reply
  • 25. Trudy  |  September 20, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Aren’t the sea lions neat? We live a couple hours away so we have seen them several times. Unfortunately our first visit was mating season – eeewww – scary for the kids 🙂

    Reply
  • 26. Idhrendur  |  September 22, 2009 at 11:12 am

    You’ve got quite a few California readers, it seems. Me, I’m from Paso Robles, just a tad inland from Cambria. I’m glad you enjoyed my home turf.

    Reply
  • 27. Chris  |  September 23, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures!
    Many of us may never get to see these things in person.

    I second your motion to avoid bee stings. They really do hurt a lot, and sometimes they get worse with each subsequent sting, so keep some Benadryl on hand when you’ll be outdoors.

    We were at a family 50th anniversary party/reunion about 2 hours from home several years ago. We were one of the first to arrive. We hadn’t been there 5 minutes when our daughter got stung by something…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


