One of the Reasons I’m Stoked for My Compassion Trip: Child Survival Program

October 28, 2009 at 12:52 am 14 comments

As some of you know, I’m heading to El Salvador very soon (12 days!!!) as a blogger for Compassion International. As the trip draws closer, I’m getting really excited about the work I’ll be able to witness, and humbled that I get to catalogue it here.

Many of you know about Compassion’s work, and like many of you, I thought until a couple months ago that Compassion was exclusively a child sponsorship program.

Oh friends, we were sooooo wrong.

Turns out there are three unique programs targeting different stages of child development.

The youngest children served by Compassion are still in the womb! Compassion provides a beautiful ministry called the Child Survival Program. It offers:

  • csp-weighprenatal care and infant survival training for mothers and caregivers, as well as spiritual guidance and education, such as literacy and income-generation training
  • ongoing health screenings and immunizations for the children
  • child development training for mothers of children under 4

Awesome, huh?

This is a program that I’m very eager to see first-hand. Most of us here in the States take our childrearing skills and education for granted. Our mothers were educated and had resources to raise us. And now we are educated and have resources to raise our children. As huge as that is, conceptually, we take it for granted.

I hope you’ll read the post, Child Survival 101, and learn a little more as I start my journey. That way, when I’m actually in the country, you’ll be all caught up on what I’m talking about and we can focus on the stories, the people, and the lives that matter so much to God. Some of them are being knit together even now.

Thanks for being interested in my trip to El Salvador. And if you have questions about the Child Survival Program that you want me to ask when I’m there, post them in the comments! I want to go as an ambassador for all of you!!!

Can you tell I’m getting excited?

Entry filed under: Blogging, Compassion, Travel.

Blogs I Read: Improv Everywhere A Follow-Up on My Last Post: Infant Mortality Video

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melinda  |  October 28, 2009 at 1:30 am

    How exciting! We support three children with Compassion and I didn’t know anything about the Child Survival Program. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading about your trip.

    Reply
  • 2. Brian  |  October 28, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Molly – thanks for sharing about this…one of the things our church is doing next year is radically cutting our budget – well, we were able to save $525,000 so far out of our budget and will be sponsoring all of India’s 21 Child Survival programs!
    http://www.radicalexperiment.org

    Reply
  • 3. Liz  |  October 28, 2009 at 6:37 am

    Molly,

    Where can we find your blogs, will it be here? How can we be praying for you?

    Reply
  • 4. Shannon  |  October 28, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I think you’ll be amazed by this program. We got to go along on a CSP in-home visit in Uganda, and I’m not kidding, it was a thorough and well-done as the well-child visits I’ve taken my own kids to here in the states. Compassion’s model really WORKS! 😉

    Praying for you–

    Reply
  • 5. Brook (Matt5verse6)  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I’m looking forward to your posts and learning more about Compassion International, El Salvador, and God’s beautiful work that is being done.

    For His glory,
    Brook

    Reply
  • 6. Melissa Parnell  |  October 28, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    We had no idea about this program with Compassion. We have so enjoyed our sponsor child and we are so excited you are going! Can’t wait to hear more about everything.

    Reply
  • 7. Erika  |  October 28, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Wow, this sounds azmazing! I can’t wait to hear more about it…looking forward to more blog posts on the subject. Praying it goes smoothly for you and you can accomplish the things you want to accomplish through this organization! (((hugs)))

    Reply
  • 8. pendy  |  October 28, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    I am SO hoping that y’all will visit CONFAD (ES778) and give my Patricia a hug for me. I read every blog post from the bloggers who went to India and can not wait to read the posts from El Salvador. Thank you for going and for providing us with a glimpse of the work Compassion is doing there.

    Reply
  • 9. Marla Taviano  |  October 28, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Can’t wait to read your posts from El Salvador!

    Reply
  • 10. Melissa Rowe Smith  |  October 28, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    yay 🙂 I am glad that I can learn more about what’s going on in El Salvador & Compassion by reading your blog.
    It’s so encouraging to read about others who have a joy to care for the poor & needy.
    For those of us waiting to go overseas, the itch can be overwhelming in the preparation/fundraising stage, so to live vicariously through you will be greatly appreciated.

    Document away girl!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Laura @ Texas in Africa  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    So excited about your trip! I am already a big fan of the CSP and will look forward to seeing it in action.

    I’ve been learning a lot about what a problem early childhood development is in a lot of our neighborhoods here at home. Poor moms don’t always have the time, resources, or role models to know that things as simple as talking and reading to a young child are hugely important for the baby’s development. That strikes me as another thing we could all get involved in without having to travel abroad.

    Reply
  • 12. Chris  |  October 29, 2009 at 6:51 am

    We are getting excited for you and praying for you!

    Reply
  • 13. Patricia  |  November 2, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Thanks for sharing your heart. I am so excited for you to see El Salvador and the ministry of Compassion. I look forward to meeting you Molly!

    Reply
  • […] you should know about Compassion in El Salvador is that they have just added a new program, the Child Survival Program, this year. As Brother Guillermo was sharing about that and showing a couple stats and pictures, he […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


