A Follow-Up on My Last Post: Infant Mortality Video

October 29, 2009 at 4:09 pm 10 comments

I watched this video this morning over at the Compassion blog. It seemed fitting, especially since I just posted about the Child Survival Program.

I couldn’t help but tear up, allowing the gravity of the topic to land on me for a few minutes. The reality that 9 million children a year die before their 5th birthday—my son turns five in a few weeks, Lord willing.

For me, having lost a child to something I couldn’t control, it hits even harder. I mean, I can do something about diarrhea. I can help people learn how to sanitize bottles and breast feed their babies.

You don’t have to feel the same way, but this is a very exciting ministry to me.

Entry filed under: Compassion, Faith, Family.

One of the Reasons I’m Stoked for My Compassion Trip: Child Survival Program A Halloween Treat for Y’all

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. amandaginn  |  October 29, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Hi Molly,
    Nicholas Kristof at the NY Times often focuses on infant mortality and educating women. http://kristof.blogs.nytimes.com/

    I am so delighted to see Christians and Christian organizations getting involved, too.

    Thank you for sharing!
    Amanda

    Reply
  • 2. Laura @ Texas in Africa  |  October 29, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Amen. In the region of the eastern Congo where I lived, one in five children doesn’t make it to age five. The vast majority of those die of preventable, easily treated causes: diarrhea, malaria, malnutrition.

    If 20% of American babies died before reaching age five for reasons completely within our control, we wouldn’t stand for it. We would direct all of our resources and energy towards changing what was going on. Yet most of us ignore it. In doing so, we live as though God values the lives of those Congolese babies less than our own.

    Reply
  • 3. Marla Taviano  |  October 29, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Wow, Molly. I really want to help. Praying about what sacrifices God wants me to make so I can.

    Our husbands met over lunch this week. Would love to meet you someday!

    Reply
    • 4. Molly Piper  |  October 29, 2009 at 7:57 pm

      Likewise, Marla. Abraham told me about the book in the publication process. Sounds like it was fun!

      I’m so glad you feel moved to help. So deeply thankful.

      Reply
  • 5. Debby  |  October 29, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    Hey Molly,

    You know, if you weren’t involved in this trip & posting about Compassion, I don’t know that I’d be finding out more about them…it’s just (sadly) so easy to go on with the needs in front of my face, you know? I’m so thankful to be finding out more! Just from the little I’ve read: what a wonderful, worthy organization.

    Lots to pray about, especially those 9 million little ones. Ugh. Absolutely heart wrenching…but hopeful. I SO want to be a part of the hopeful. Thanks for your posts.

    Reply
  • 6. nmwally  |  October 29, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Wow, this is neat. I had no idea about this program, either. I continue to be impressed by Compassion’s dedication to meeting BOTH physical and spiritual needs so well. Thanks for sharing the video and blog link. I’m excited to get a little window into this program through your trip.

    Reply
  • 7. Jan  |  October 30, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Hey Molly,

    I’m a little bit slow to figure out web things, but I’m trying to understand how I will be able to follow your blogging for Compassion. ?? I see that things are listed as being “by Web Team” – so will you also post your entries on this blog or ??

    Thanks for helping me.

    Reply
  • 8. Brook (Matt5verse6)  |  October 30, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    It is very exciting indeed. I hope you don’t mind, I’ll be following your blog and linking to your posts. I feel it’s a great ministry and God’s little lambs are so precious! I’m thankful God has placed it on your heart to go to El Salvador and blog about it for those of us here in the states desiring to know more about “Compassion” and God’s work through it. Best wishes.

    For His glory,
    Brook

    Reply
  • 9. jennapants  |  November 2, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    it’s coming up so soon!!! it kinda blows my mind that you’re leaving the country!

    i’m SO looking forward to reading your El Salvador posts!

    Reply
  • 10. Elizabeth Esther  |  November 3, 2009 at 9:20 am

    I am so excited for you. I know it’s going to be an emotionally overwhelming time–so I’ll pray for you each day. You’re going to do awesome!! ((hugs))

    Go save some lives!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


