A Halloween Treat for Y’all

October 31, 2009 at 10:51 pm 22 comments

Orison went trick-or-treating for the first time tonight.

I wish I could’ve bottled up some of his enthusiasm and zest as he ran, full-speed, from house to house.

I wish I could’ve apologized to all the people whose doorbells were rung in rapid-fire fashion as he waited to scream “Trick or Treat” with all the excitement a four-year-old body can handle. He didn’t seem to hear me when I said, “Only ring it once!”

He dressed as a cowboy, and he was the cutest little cowboy there ever was.

There’s another pretty cute cowboy in this town, too, and they joined forces for a little croonin’ before bed.

(Yes, they both have *real* cowboy boots!)

Happy Halloween, y’all!

Entry filed under: Family, Fun, Orison.

A Follow-Up on My Last Post: Infant Mortality Video Compassion Countdown: 4 days til El Salvador!

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erika  |  October 31, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    So cute! Glad you guys had a great Halloween!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Sara Hintz  |  November 1, 2009 at 12:34 am

    OK, that was adorable… so precious. That made me smile and it was so needed… thankyou Molly:)

    Reply
  • 3. Shannalee  |  November 1, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Adorable!

    Reply
  • 4. Allie  |  November 1, 2009 at 8:57 am

    So cute! I love it. It made me laugh when he busted out the dance moves mid-song. Kids are so funny. Keep the posts coming. I really enjoy your blog =)

    Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  November 1, 2009 at 9:27 am

    That is SO stinkin’ cute. Never heard all the words to that song! It warmed my heart.

    Reply
  • 6. patty broberg  |  November 1, 2009 at 10:18 am

    VERY cute : )

    Reply
  • 7. Melissa Parnell  |  November 1, 2009 at 10:43 am

    i felt at home with this post! 🙂 and i absolutely loved orison’s dancing..that was hilarious. what was morrow’s costume?

    Reply
  • 8. pendy  |  November 1, 2009 at 11:42 am

    So cute…reminded me of the cowboy stage my son went through. Worked out great that Halloween as he pretty much just wore what he loved to wear every day that year!

    Looking forward to reading your posts from El Salvador, especially since my sponsored child is there. You and the others will be in my prayers.

    Reply
  • 9. Marla Taviano  |  November 1, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Oh my word. Too cute. You guys can sing!!

    Reply
  • 10. Mrs. Erven  |  November 1, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Is there anything y’all can’t do?? That was great!!

    P.S. I’m from South Georgia, and I’m always impressed when people can spell “y’all” correctly. 😀

    Reply
  • 11. Rachel  |  November 1, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Orison makes a great cowboy!! I love his little boots.

    I heard that song around plenty of campfires growing up in Montana. When I was little I was sure the words were: “where is CHILDREN are heard as a discouraging word” and I was so baffled as to what that could possibly mean.

    Reply
  • 12. Andrea Bindewald  |  November 1, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Cute! Bo and his friend Lucas went as Bo and Luke Duke!

    Reply
  • 13. Kristin  |  November 2, 2009 at 4:16 am

    He does look cute. Excuse my ignorance but what is Halloween actually about??? It’s only just catching on in Australia and I don’t know much about it but had thought it wasn’t something Christians encouraged???? I’d love to know more about it to form my own opinion.

    Reply
    • 14. Chris  |  November 2, 2009 at 7:52 am

      What it’s all about depends on where you’re coming from. For many Christians and non-Christians alike it’s just a fun time for kids to all get dressed up as something cute and fun and then run around the neighborhood together with their siblings and friends going door to door for candy. They come home with a pillowcase or bucket full of candy and dump it all out on the floor and bask in it. Some parents let them gobble it up at their own pace. Others allow just one piece a day and furtively send some to work with dad or mom to share with their co-workers, thus saving a lot of dental work for the kids, but causing the parents to have to spend extra time on the treadmill.

      The adults who stay home and pass out candy love seeing all the kids in their cute costumes and enjoy encouraging and blessing them. In more recent years some people have switched to passing out little toys or special erasers/pencils, and other non-edible goodies or healthier snacks like bags of pretzels and stuff. Some pass out little Bible story books or other Christian items.

      If you google the history Halloween you’ll find that there are some very dark origins and even some religious unbiblical variations, which is why many Christians oppose it.

      If you visit a blog called Abigail’s Leftovers, you will find a humorous post on the various Christian takes on Halloween.

      http://abigailsleftovers.wordpress.com/2009/10/21/what-kind-of-evangelical-are-you-or-what-do-you-do-for-halloween/

      You will also enjoy a book called The Pumpkin Patch Parable.
      http://www.amazon.com/Parable-Pumpkin-Patch/dp/0785277226

      Blessings to you!

      Reply
  • 15. Chris  |  November 2, 2009 at 7:41 am

    delightful!

    Reply
  • 16. Katrina  |  November 2, 2009 at 8:02 am

    I love it…harmonizing and all…you guys are the best.

    Reply
  • 17. Bobbi  |  November 2, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I love it, so cute! I agree the mid song dance moves were great. I have three boys and they have all gone through the cowboy stage, their Grandpa even gave them cowboy names.
    Thanks for sharing the cuteness with us 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. Anna Olson  |  November 2, 2009 at 9:08 am

    very cute song and dance Orison did!!!

    Reply
  • 19. danielle  |  November 2, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    play -eyay
    ah…awesome. lol

    Reply
  • 20. linda  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    LOL so cute! i sang that song ALL day yesterday (when i watched this).

    thanks for sharing your family stories 🙂

    Reply
  • 21. Laurie  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Y’all know how to do this Kansas girl proud, singin my state’s song!! Woo hoo!

    Reply
  • 22. Casey Zachary  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    adorable. Orison that is. Not that Abraham…well, you know what I mean. Hey. I hope you have an amazing trip to El Salvador. I pray God gives you strength and wisdom to communicate all you see well in your blog posts. Looking forward to reading about your experiences there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


