Orison Loves All Things Christmas

December 7, 2009 at 12:22 am 16 comments

Our five-year-old is in love with Christmas. I know he’s not alone, all kids like Christmas. But I realized that his obsession excitement is helping me love Christmas more.

Not that I didn’t love Christmas before, it’s just that it becomes new and fresh and wonderful when you experience it through the excited and eager eyes of a child. That sounded really cheesy, but it’s true.

Last night my mother-in-law lovingly babysat our kids. One thing you should know about my mother-in-law: she has the most Christmas decorations of anyone I know. It’s like a Christmas Spectacular over there. And as you can imagine, for Orison, it’s a-ma-zing!

There are nativity sets from all over the world, lights in the windows, and even a life-size manger for re-enacting.

Orison told my mother-in-law that he was being Joseph and he was taking care of baby Jesus. She wrote a sweet and beautiful post reflecting on that idea.

Most days you can find him playing with his Playmobil Nativity set or with this magnetic doodad he got from… can you guess? His grandmama (the above-mentioned fellow Christmas fan)! He used this magnetic set to do Sunday School lessons for me and Abraham the other day.

He also loves to sing. There have been lots of traditional carols and some non-traditional ones he writes himself:

So if you’re needing a little shot in the arm of Christmas spirit, let us know! Orison would be more than happy to accomodate. He’s got enough to go around!

Entry filed under: Fun, Home, Orison.

Laundry Anxiety A Family Tree For Christmas, Part 1

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katherine Bautista  |  December 7, 2009 at 8:02 am

    He is SO SO SO cute!!

    Reply
  • 2. That Grandmama  |  December 7, 2009 at 8:15 am

    I’ve been showered with a LOT of that Christmas enthusiasm,. and so far I haven’t heard 1 word of “I want . . . . I want.”

    Reply
  • 3. Marla Taviano  |  December 7, 2009 at 8:18 am

    He’s adorable. My girls’ Christmas enthusiasm is rubbing off on me too. We’re decorating and baking and dipping things in chocolate and having fun together. And talking a LOT about Jesus!

    Reply
  • 4. Sara Dick  |  December 7, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Wow! Tell Orison Mrs Dick LOVED his singing!

    Reply
  • 5. Denita  |  December 7, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Watching Orison sing a merry tune made for a finer morning greeting than a hundred cups of premium coffee!

    Reply
  • 6. Kendall  |  December 7, 2009 at 10:25 am

    I like the little nod at the end. 🙂
    On another note: Hope your 3rd Christmas without Felicity has more sweet than bitter. I know I’m dealing with a bit of shock that it’s our 3rd without Autumn. Fighting for joy some days.
    Thought maybe you were dealing with something similar… keeping you in my prayers.
    With a hug,
    k.

    Reply
    • 7. Molly Piper  |  December 7, 2009 at 11:50 am

      Amazing that you said that. Just talking with a good friend last night who is also spending her 3rd Christmas without her adult son. So hard to believe that it’ll be three Christmases.

      One thing my friend said last night, in response to my tears was, “Well, the good news is you’re three years closer to meeting her. What a grand thing that will be.”

      Made me cry harder, and gave me hope.

      Thanks for your love and encouragement, Kendall. Love to you this Christmas #3.

      Reply
      • 8. mrsmanz  |  December 7, 2009 at 12:11 pm

        And now I’ve got tears! (chuckle)
        How good God is to give me friends who truly understand… love back to you, Molly.

  • 9. Patricia  |  December 7, 2009 at 11:10 am

    That is adorable. Thank you Orison for your Christmas spirit!

    Reply
  • 10. momfessions  |  December 7, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    That makes me think of Elf… “The best way to spread Christmas cheer: sing loud and clear for all to hear!”

    It is totally contagious!!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Melissa Parnell  |  December 7, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    i love at the end when you said, “is that the end?” cracks me up.
    He played all summer with our nativty set.

    is that magnetic doodad homemade? if so, where did you find the magnetic pieces?

    Reply
    • 12. JenR  |  December 7, 2009 at 2:20 pm

      I dont know where Molly got her nativity magnets, but a really cheap way to do it is to get nativity stickers and then magnet sheets from Michaels or a craft store, afix the stickers, cut, and use. I imagine this technique works great for women who did not give birth to beavers and sticker-eaters like I did:).

      Reply
  • 13. Jane Threlkeld  |  December 7, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    What a sweet sweet gift from the Lord Orison is. Thanks for sharing the cuteness with us.
    “Out of the mouths of babes You have established strength”

    Reply
  • 14. Kelly @ Love Well  |  December 7, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    You should hire him out to spread Christmas cheer. (I bet he’d make a racket at company holiday parties.) He’s like the original anti-Grinch.

    Reply
  • 15. Dave  |  December 7, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    I am so thrilled that Orison loves Christmas. He and I will have a great time when you guys are here! I love love love love love this time of year. SO so so much.

    Reply
  • 16. A Family Tree For Christmas, Part 1 « The Pipers  |  December 9, 2009 at 12:04 am

    […] his Christmas excitement, one night after dinner, he’d had enough of this waiting around thing (I’m pretty sure […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


We're the Pipers!

Sponsor a Child!

Sponsor a Child with Compassion!

On Browsing and Commenting

You may be a stranger,
but you're not a stalker.

Categories

What the Tweet?!?


